Over the two years of the historic 100th General Assembly, Rep. Dave Severin (R-Benton) sponsored or co-sponsored sixty-eight bills that have become law. The most recent legislative session in 2018 has 253 new laws that take effect on January 1st. In addition to the hunting safety legislation that adds blaze pink to the blaze orange as a clothing color option so other hunters see you during hunting season, Rep. Severin was the chief co-sponsor of the law establishing November 4th each year as "G.I. Bill of Rights Day" in Illinois. That is the date when former Illinois Governor John Stelle of McLeansboro met with seven other Legion members from around the state to put down their ideas on dinner napkins on how to help returning veterans from World War II. Stelle took those ideas to Washington was instrumental in the drafting and passage of that legislation.

The other new laws taking effect on January 1, 2019 are listed below. If you'd like additional information on them, please refer to the General Assembly web site at www.ilga.gov. 

Creating the Route 66 Centennial Commission
(Public Act 100-649, House Bill 66)
In preparation of celebrating the 100th birthday of historic Route 66, House Bill 66 creates the Illinois Route 66 Centennial Commission charged with planning the Mother Road’s centennial celebrations throughout the state. The Commission will consist of 20 members, three of whom will be appointed by the Governor and two from each of the legislative leaders. Additional members will represent various groups or state agencies, including the Executive Director of the Illinois Route 66 Scenic Byway.

Designating December 3 “Illinois Statehood Day”
(Public Act 100-898, House Bill 489)
December 3 of each year is now designated as Illinois Statehood Day, to commemorate December 3, 1818, the day Illinois became the 21st state to join the Union. Within 10 days before Illinois Statehood Day each year, the Governor shall issue a proclamation announcing the recognition of Statehood Day, and designate the official events that will be held in honor of Illinois obtaining statehood.